12 African Personalities being Honoured at this Year’s BET Award

By Our Correspondent

DSTV to broadcast show live across africa as music stars and their fans gear up for this year’s BET Awards.

Organizers of the awards, BET Networks had announced that music heavyweights Chris Brown, Lil Wayne, DJ Khaled, Big Sean, Post Malone, Roman Gian Arthur and Jessie Reyez would perform at this year’s event that have new addition to the categories, Lifetime Achievement Award.

The iconic annual show will have performances from hit makers like Bruno Mars, Future, Migos, Trey Songz and Tamar Braxton. The BET Awards has set the standard for one of the most intently unconventional, news-provoking broadcasts.

Bill to hold on Sunday, June 25, at the Microsoft Theatre, Los Angeles, USA, this year’s edition BET Network said is sure to include unforgettable moments, appearances and performances followers of the awards would not want to miss. The awards would be air across Africa on BET (DStv channel 129) and host is stand-up comedian, Leslie Jones,

In addition, leading entertainers across television, film, sports, comedy and music to join as presenters at this year’s awards include Trevor Noah, Yara Shahidi, Cardi B, Issa Rae, Jamie Foxx, La La Anthony; cast of Universal Pictures’ Girls Trip — Regina Hall, Tiffany Haddish, with Jada Pinkett Smith and Queen Latifah. Others are Robin Thede, Cari Champion and Demetrius Shipp Jr.

Executive Vice President and Managing Director of Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN) Africa, Alex Okosi said: “The rich performance line-up certainly lives up to the prestigious nature of the annual ceremony and Africa is undoubtedly well represented with 12 African personalities being honoured across three different categories. It is also exciting that Africa’s own Trevor Noah, an acclaimed international star, will be presenting an award.”  

“Africa will be greatly represented at the event with singer and humanitarian Yvonne Chaka Chaka and social activist Ilwad Elman being awarded with International Global Good Star and Power Awards.

Eight leading African artistes including AKA, Nasty C, Babes Wodumo, Wizkid, Tekno, Mr Eazi, Davido and Stonebwoy will all vie for the Best International Act: Africa Category,” he added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *